Visual Art

Te Roopu ko te Rourou Weavers Circle

Come along and join Whaea Karen every Thursday morning to learn more about working with flax and weaving.

  • Thu, 27 Feb at 10AM
  • Open to all levels
  • Ages Open to all
  • Free
Register your place

Thanks, your registration has been received.

Back to form

View dates
  • Thu, 13 Feb at 10AM
  • Thu, 20 Feb at 10AM
  • Thu, 27 Feb at 10AM
  • Thu, 5 Mar at 10AM
  • Thu, 12 Mar at 10AM
  • Thu, 19 Mar at 10AM
  • Thu, 26 Mar at 10AM
  • Thu, 2 Apr at 10AM
  • Thu, 7 May at 10AM
  • Thu, 14 May at 10AM
  • Thu, 21 May at 10AM
  • Thu, 28 May at 10AM
  • Thu, 4 Jun at 10AM
  • Thu, 11 Jun at 10AM
  • Thu, 18 Jun at 10AM
  • Thu, 25 Jun at 10AM
About

Every Thursday, we welcome you to join Whaea Karen and the newly formed Te Roopu ko te Rourou weavers in an informal workshop to learn about working with flax.

This group aims to create a social environment where you can share tips and techniques or start a project in a safe and inviting space. This social group is open to any all levels and abilities.

For those who are starting their journey with raranga/weaving. Over eight weeks, Whaea Karen will take you through the basics.

- Introduction to different types of harakeke and their uses.
- Overview of the tikanga (protocol) and methods of harvesting
- Learn some basic techniques
- Construct and complete small projects
-Connect with others

This workshop is suitable for absolute beginners with no previous weaving experience or those that are looking for a regular meeting place to socialise and work with others in a collective.

Karen Nathan

Karen Nathan

Karen Nathan

Maungakiekie-Tamaki Local Board